My Twenties Bucket List

I’m 29. There, I said it. I may or may not have cried the week before (ok, I did cry). But I survived. It wasn’t that bad.

I started off my Twenties a recent college dropout, Newlywed of 8 days, and 4 1/2 months pregnant. Yeah, I wasn’t thrilled about receiving maternity clothes for my 20th birthday, but whatdoyoudo? I started off my final year of my Twenties a recent college graduate, Divorcee of 6 1/2 years, and Mother of an 8 1/2 year old. I would’ve been Thrilled to receive maternity clothes! But that’s a whole different story.

I guess you could say I have a restless spirit. I have a lot of thoughts and ideas and dreams, but not the time and/or money to bring them to life. Or so I thought. So many things just take a simple “Make it Happen” attitude. Write it down, plan it out, and do it! Which brings me to………….my Twenties Bucket List. (Yes, I’m well aware of the fact that I have less than a year left.)

You’ve heard the term “Bucket List” used to describe a compilation of things you want to do before you die. Well, I’m not dying, but my Twenties are. So why not create a Bucket List of things I want to do before I’m 30? Normally the list would be of things you’ve never done…but I want to change it up a bit. Here’s my “rules” per se:

  • Things I’ve never done before
  • Things I’ve said I would do, but haven’t
  • Things I’ve made plans to do, but “life” got in the way
  • Things that maybe I’ve done once or twice, but really want to do again
  • Things that are simple
  • Things that make me smile
  • Things that challenge me
  • Things that will make me grow
  • And anything else I want to put, because it is “My” list

So, I’m going to make a list. I may come back and add to it. I certainly don’t want to delete anything from it. The thing I love about lists is getting to check things off. I’m “putting it down on paper” to keep myself accountable, but also to keep a record of it…and share it with whomever wants to share it with me. The “plan” is to blog about each one as I check it off. (Funny thing, I’ve made a tentative list on my To Do List app on my phone, and one of the items is to blog at least once a month…so as long as I keep up with this, I shouldn’t have a problem with that one.)

I hope to keep up with this. I hope to cross every item off my list, and then some! I hope to enter my Thirties with a huge smile on my face, a list of awesome things I did/accomplished during my Twenties, and then maybe a new list…a Thirties Bucket List. But let’s not get ahead of ourselves, Deborah.

Here’s my tentative list:

(in no particular order)

  1. Skydive
  2. Painting with a Twist 09/22/12
  3. Read a Classic Novel
  4. Write a poem
  5. Bike ride with Colton 07/01/12
  6. Run a 5K
  7. Run a 10K
  8. Run a Half Marathon
  9. Go to NYC
  10. Go to Europe
  11. Get a Sister Tattoo
  12. Eat a Snowcone 06/23/12
  13. Go to The Slab 07/07/12
  14. Skip a rock across the water 07/07/12
  15. Nap in a hammock
  16. Kiss in the rain
  17. Finger paint
  18. Feed the homeless
  19. Take Mama to a movie
  20. Sew something 11/26/12
  21. Blog at least once a month
  22. Buy something really great on Black Friday 11/23/12
  23. Write a Children’s Book
  24. Visit Steph in Sherman
  25. Go Berry Picking 06/23/12
  26. Read the Bible all the way through
  27. Shoot a handgun
  28. Eat cottage cheese
  29. Make a Will
  30. ?

I know some of these sound odd…I’ll explain them. I know some of these are simple things that I would most likely do with or without a Bucket List…but that’s part of the “It’s my list and I’ll add whatever I want to it”. And I know some of them are more on the Extreme (Europe and Half Marathon), but if you’re gonna make a list, make a great one! I know that I can accomplish all of these, if I put my mind to it, plan it out, and just do it! So, Here’s to being 29, and loving it!

About deborahmoore83

I'm 29. There, I said it. I may or may not have cried the week before turning 29 (ok, I did cry). But I survived. And it wasn't that bad. View all posts by deborahmoore83

4 responses to “My Twenties Bucket List

Leave a Reply

